top of page

Wishing Stars

I wrote this poem out of sheer disbelief that for YEARS I have allowed my relationships with men to be solely on their terms. I am too scared to bother them, so I forego saying how I feel. I don't want to offend them with my strong, female opinions so I agree with them, biting my tongue. I wait for them to realize they like me no matter how long it takes. I am not living the life I want to live. I live the life they want me to live. But you know what? Fuck that. I am done allowing men to treat me the ways in which they do. I am so much more than a body. I refuse to be sexualized and I refuse to live in the passenger seat of my own life. Here is a poem I wrote titled "Wishing Stars." Ladies, we have to remember that we are the brightest stars there are. And if men don't view us this way, they don't deserve us.




WISHING STARS

by Samantha Ross, May 30, 2020


Years ago, he was not ready to give you his heart, yet you decided to wait for him to come around.

You gave him his space.

You gave him patience.

You gave him your all.

You loved him deeply even from the lonely distance he designed.

You wished on stars and galaxies that he would one day realize your worth.

You wanted to be a planet to him- something he would protect and cherish.


But one night, you awoke restlessly from this sad sung dream: “what am I waiting for?”

Your whole world felt small and misfortunate.

It was in need of dire change.


So, you decided to work on your self.

You learned how to advocate for yourself.

You learned how to appreciate yourself.

You realized that all along.. you didn’t even love yourself.

But now, you did love yourself.


Yet he... he was still not ready.

He was the same person he had been all along.

As you were working, he was sleeping.

As you were building, he was breaking.

You had been waiting on someone all along who had been stuck in a different galaxy than you.


The stars had finally aligned and you knew what was best.

There would be no more waiting.

No more obeying.

No more self sacrificing for his needs.

Alas, you sensed freedom from the shackles of his enticing yet heart-rending spell.

The stars had something better planned for you.


No more wishing on galaxies.

No more lonely, empty nights of despair.

“You will feel whole again.”

All along, you didn’t need him to realize your worth.

You were the answer to your own self-worth.


Today, he came around, professing he is finally able to give you his heart.

But you have already moved on.

You realized years ago that you are so much more than an unlucky wish on a hopeless, pathetic star.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page